ASEAN People

ASEAN People   

One of every ten persons in the world today lives in Southeast Asia. This constitutes a huge market with steadily increasing purchasing power.

Southeast Asia is an area of immense richness and diversity, spanning three time zones and ten nations – Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Several centuries of human migration, the influence of the great religions and civilizations of the East, the coming of western rule followed by independence, have resulted in a region made up of countries that are diverse in size and populations, religions practiced, languages used and the historical circumstances experienced by each.

Economically, Southeast Asia belongs to the developing world. However, four of the 10 Southeast Asian countries have joined the world’s top 20 most competitive economies.

As of 2007, the population of the ASEAN region was about 580 million with annual growth of 1.9%. Its GDP (PPP) per capita is over US$ 5,900.

Kingdom of Thailand

Brunei Darussalam

Kingdom of Cambodia

Republic of  Indonesia

The Lao People’s Democratic Republic of Lao PDR


Republic of the Philippines

The Republic of Singapore

The Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Union of Myanmar

More information is available at  :



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  เปลี่ยนแปลง )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  เปลี่ยนแปลง )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  เปลี่ยนแปลง )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  เปลี่ยนแปลง )

Connecting to %s